The Board


Jan H. Akkerman – Chairman

Jan Akkerman is the founder and major shareholder of Mustavaaran Kaivos Oy. He is also the Chairman of the Board. Akkerman has over 30 years’ experience in the exploration and mining business, including 19 years with the Billiton Group. His previous assignments include exploration, project development, mining operations and mine closure in 14 countries. Akkerman holds an M.Sc. in Geology from the University of Amsterdam and he is also the Managing Director and shareholder of Akkerman Exploration B.V.



Tapani Järvinen – Member of the Board

Tapani Järvinen holds an M. Sc. in Engineering and Lic. Sc. in Technology. Järvinen previously worked as Managing Director of Outotec Oyj and has held a series of executive and international roles within the Outokumpu Group. His positions of trust include membership of the Board for Finpro, Talvivaara Oyj, Outotec Oyj and Konecranes Oyj etc.



Chaim (Poju) Zabludowicz – Member of the Board

Poju Zabludowicz is Chairman and CEO of the private investment group Tamares. Zabludowicz is a member of the Board for Mustavaaran Kaivos Oy, Outotec Oyj as well as several other Finnish and international companies and associations.





Jukka Mikkonen  - Member of the Board

Jukka Mikkonen is the Mayor of the Municipality of Taivalkoski and holds an M. Sc. degree in Engineering. He is a member of the Board for Mustavaaran Kaivos Oy. He worked previously as the Technical Director of Oy Marli Ab.